City Council

City Council ChambersMeetings

  • 7:00 pm
  • Second Monday of each month
  • City Council Chambers
    514 E. Brazos Avenue
    West Columbia, TX 77486

Agendas & Minutes 

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.


Minutes are also available following approval.



  • Laurie B. Kincannon Mayor
    Term Expires: May 2020
  • Robert L. Thomas, Council Pos. 1
    Term Expires: May 2021
  • Charley Tindol, Council Pos. 2
    Term Expires: May 2020
  • Roy E. Maynor, Jr., Council Pos. 3
    Term Expires: May 2021
  • James "Jamie" Walker, Council Pos. 4
    Term Expires: May 2021
  • Dietrich von Biedenfeld, Council Pos. 5 and Mayor Pro-Tem
    Term Expires: May 2020


West Columbia is governed by a Mayor and City Council who are elected by the people of the City of West Columbia. The Mayor and City Council acting together are the Governing Body. All Governing Body members serve two-year terms. The Governing Body, being the elected representative of the people, adopts all ordinances and resolutions and determines the general goals and policies.


City Council positions are for two-year terms. Candidates must be 18 yrs. of age, have resided a minimum of 1 year in the state and 6 months in the City of West Columbia, Texas for Alderman or 1 year for Mayor and be a registered voter in Brazoria County by the filing deadline. More information is available in the candidate’s packet available at City Hall, 512 E. Brazos Avenue, West Columbia, Texas.

Elections are held in May of each year.

Election Day is May 2, 2020.

Last Day to register to vote in the City’s General Election is April 2, 2020.

Results of Drawing for Ballot Positions held February 24, 2020 at 5:00PM:


Alderman Pos. 2:  DONNIE CONGDON, JR.

                             CHARLEY TINDOL (Incumbent)

Alderman Pos. 5:  DIETRICH von BIEDENFELD (Incumbent)